Loading...
FAQs2021-07-20T17:39:51-04:00

FAQs

You probably have a lot of questions. If you don’t have time or the inclination to peruse our website to find what you need, we encourage you to look through our FAQs below. If you can’t find it, give us a call, we’ll be happy to help!

Where and when do I pay for my inspection or testing?2021-07-27T12:20:14-04:00

The best way to pay is with a personal check, business check, or bank check. You may bring it to the inspection and give it to the inspector.

Alternatively, you may use the link in your confirmation email from us to pay with a debit or credit card. Just follow the link and enter your card information in our online payment portal.

In addition, you may pay by calling our office and giving us your card information over the phone.

When you pay via debit or credit card a 2.9% convenience fee is added, whether online, in person, or over the phone.

May I have a friend attend the inspection in my place?2021-07-27T14:54:56-04:00

No, we no longer allow anyone other than our client, spouse, and children to attend the home inspection. Please do not ask a friend to attend in your place; they will not be allowed to enter the property. Permission is granted by the home owner for the inspector to enter the home; friends of the buyer(s) do not have permission to enter the home.

In addition, we will not discuss our findings with anyone other than our client and/or their real estate agent.

How do you test for asbestos?2021-07-21T11:27:57-04:00

Our technician collects two samples, places them in a sealed container, then ships them to the lab. Since removing samples from a home can be destructive, we do not perform asbestos testing on properties not owned by the client.

If needed, additional samples may be collected for a small fee.

What does a mold test entail?2021-07-21T11:22:36-04:00

A mold test involves collecting three samples: one outdoor air sample (used as a baseline), one indoor air sample, and a third sample (usually a swab). In larger homes, or homes where mold may be growing in multiple areas, additional samples may be collected for an additional fee.

Do you offer any discounts?2021-07-20T17:35:50-04:00

Yes, we offer a $40.00 discount on a home inspection to United States Armed Services Veterans. When you order, please let us know you are a Veteran!

We do not offer any other type of discounts at this time.

What are your office hours?2021-07-20T17:27:19-04:00

1st Choice Home Inspections is open Monday to Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. We are open on Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

You may order a home inspection, or one of our other services, online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

How much does asbestos testing cost?2021-07-21T11:30:21-04:00

A residential asbestos test in Knoxville costs $300.00. The test includes taking two samples and delivering it to the lab. If needed, additional samples are $50.00 each.

What is so dangerous about asbestos?2021-07-20T17:15:18-04:00

Asbestos is known to cause mesothelioma, a cancer. Long term exposure is dangerous. If you have asbestos in your home it needs to be removed.

Who needs to test for asbestos?2021-07-20T17:12:22-04:00

Anyone with a home built prior to 1980 should test their home for asbestos. Asbestos is found in many building materials from that time.

Is your well-water test approved for FHA / VA loans?2021-07-20T17:08:24-04:00

Yes, we are qualified to provide FHA / VA approved, third party, well-water testing for loans. The lab in Oak Ridge, Tennessee is a state licensed and approved lab for testing well-water.

Do you inspect the well pump or just the water?2021-07-20T17:04:15-04:00

We test the water, not the pumping system. We collect the water from the kitchen sink faucet after allowing it to run for a few minutes. The water is sealed and hand-delivered to the lab in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

How much does a well-water test cost?2021-07-20T17:36:55-04:00

We charge $300.00 for a well-water test in the Knoxville area. The charge is slightly more for locations further away. When you order it with a home inspection we give a $15.00 discount.

What types of payment do you accept?2021-07-20T17:37:09-04:00

We accept personal or business checks, cash, money orders, certified bank checks, and credit/debit cards. When paying by credit/debit card, our system charges a 2.9% convenience fee.

Make checks out to: 1st Choice Home Inspections

Is radon gas dangerous?2021-07-20T15:43:03-04:00

Yes, long term exposure to radon gas causes lung cancer. In America, exposure to radon gas is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers.

How much does a radon test cost?2021-07-20T17:37:17-04:00

A standalone radon test costs $210.00 in Knoxville. When ordered with a home inspection, the fee is $160.00. The fee for a radon test is higher for locations outside of the immediate Knoxville area. Please call us for a quote if you are outside the Knoxville area.

Is radon really a problem in Tennessee?2021-07-20T15:10:25-04:00

Yes, up to 30% of the homes we test in East Tennessee have dangerous levels of radon.

How long does a radon test take?2021-07-20T15:06:47-04:00

A proper radon test requires a minimum of 48 hours. When we drop off a radon monitor, we return two the three days later to pick it up and download the results. If we drop off a radon monitor on Thursday or Friday, we will likely pick it up on the following Monday.

How long does it take to get my mold test results?2021-07-20T15:00:18-04:00

The lab specifies that they need 2-5 days to return mold test results after the samples have been delivered.

How much does a mold test cost?2021-07-20T17:37:26-04:00

1st Choice Home Inspections charges $400.00 for a mold test in Knoxville. This includes three samples: an outdoor air sample, an indoor air sample, and a third air or swab sample. Additional samples are $75.00 each. Mold testing performed outside of the immediate Knoxville area may be charged a slightly higher fee. Call for your address.

Can I reschedule or cancel my appointment?2021-07-20T16:31:12-04:00

Yes, you may reschedule or cancel your appointment. We require a 48-hour notice. Rescheduled or cancelled appointments with less than 48 hours notice may be charged a fee of $100.00.

May I attend the home inspection?2021-07-27T14:53:37-04:00

Yes, buyer’s are encouraged to attend the last 30 minutes of the home inspection. We ask that you arrive during this time so the inspector may complete the inspection without interruptions. He will do a better job for you and the results will be more accurate. Your inspector is happy to walk the property, discuss any findings, and provide you an opportunity to ask questions during the last 30 minutes. Please coordinate the arrival time directly with your inspector.

If we are responsible for access into the property through Supra or a lockbox, we cannot allow anyone to enter during our inspection until the appointed completion time, unless accompanied by a qualified representative (i.e. Realtor®). When we are responsible for access, we assume liability for the property and the contents. Because of this, it is essential that you follow these guidelines and only attend at the appointed time, unless you have a qualified representative present to accompany you.

Unaccompanied buyers may not walk through a home at any time; they must have representation present. This needs to be done by the real estate agent. If your real estate agent is with you, you may arrive at any time during the inspection.

How long does a home inspection take?2021-07-20T14:02:42-04:00

A home inspection can take from 1.5 to 6 hours or more, depending on the size of the home. The average home takes between 1.5 to 2.5 hours. We always request access for 3 hours minimum.

How much does a home inspection cost?2021-07-20T17:37:35-04:00

The price of a home inspection varies by location and square footage. For example, a home in Knoxville up to 2,000 square feet, costs just $425.00 for the home inspection. A larger home in the same location, between 2,001-3,000 square feet, is $475.00. The fees go up for every 500 square feet. Homes further from Knoxville are charged a slightly higher fee.

Go to Top